History of Poplar Place

The congregation of Ebenezer Methodist Church was organized by Reverend Andrea Bryant in 1866, and was originally known as Bryant’s Chapel Methodist Church.  In September 1878 the congregation moved from Walnut Street to 409 Poplar Street, which was a site known as the Carpenter’s Shop.

 

When the congregation moved to their new location in 1878 their name was changed to Ebenezer Episcopal Church.  The congregation became known as Ebenezer Methodist Church in 1939 and operated as such until the doors were closed in 2002.

 

As an AME (African Methodist Episcopal Church) that opened its doors in 1878, Ebenezer Methodist Church, now home to Poplar Place Studios is an important site to the rich history of Madison, Indiana.

 

After the doors were closed for the final time as Ebenezer Methodist Church, the building sat empty for roughly 10 years until it was saved by John and Sandy Schaerli.  After an extensive renovation by Mr and Mrs Schaerli it was purchased by the current owners Ryan and Janie Mahoney in July of 2015.  They are so excited to utilize such a beautiful and historically significant building.  The chance to repurpose one of Madison’s historic gems as Janie’s photography studio, an amazing event hall, and a unique wedding venue was too good to pass up.   Ryan and Janie hope to honor the past of this beautiful building, and help create new memories for its patrons for many years to come!

 

Contact Us! 409 Poplar Street Madison, In (812) 493-2828
Contact Us! 409 Poplar Street Madison, In (812) 493-2828